About Us

Ponthir Community Council was formed following the re-organisation of local government in 1974 and is one of six Community/Town Councils in Torfaen.
They are:
  • Blaenavon Town Council
  • Croesyceiliog & Llanyrafon Community Council
  • Cwmbran Community Council
  • Henllys Community Council
  • Ponthir Community Council
  • Pontypool Community Council

Ponthir Community Council serves the residents of Ponthir & Lower Llanfrechfa, a community of over 1,000 on the electoral roll.

As a democratically-elected statutory body, the Council raises its funds through setting an annual precept which is collected by Torfaen County Borough Council, and is passed on to the Community Council. The Council then uses this money to make a difference in the community.